Vanilla Goodness   Leave a comment

I bought vanilla beans at the health food store today. Okay, perhaps I went a bit crazy buying vanilla beans. I should have checked the price before I did this, but such is life.

I have homemade vanilla extract started in a dark kitchen cupboard. I combined  8 vanilla beans with about 2 1/2 cups of rum. I’m hoping to bottle some of it to give as Christmas gifts. I used Chocolate and Zucchini’s vanilla recipe as the basis for mine.

I’m heading for the kitchen to make vanilla sugar, using Alton Brown’s recipe.

There may be homemade vanilla ice cream and vanilla cake forthcoming in the near future to use up more of the vanilla bean excess.

Posted November 15, 2009 by unusuallyeverafter in Cooking

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

