On apple tarts and puff pastry…   Leave a comment

I was left making dessert last night without any eggs in the house (and there’s snow, ice and sub-zero temps preventing fetching more). I did, however, have a package of frozen puff pastry in the house. I found Pioneer Woman’s apple tart and threw it together at the last minute. The end result was quite good and may be re-used for a brunch recipe. I tried to make a batch of Philly style vanilla ice cream, but it didn’t set up properly. I assume my freezer core for the ice cream maker wasn’t chilled adequately. I froze it anyway, then churned this morning. It’s quite crystallized, but maybe we’ll make milkshakes or frappucinos out of it.

Must get in the habit of taking pictures.

Posted January 8, 2010 by unusuallyeverafter in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

